Error processing SSI file
Error processing SSI file
Error processing SSI file

Florida State Fair 4-H Horse Judging

February 9, 2019
FSF, Tampa

Registration form, due January 28

The Florida State Fair will host a 4-H Horse Judging Contest on Saturday, February 9, 2019 at the Lykes indoor arena. Check in will begin at 12:30 p.m., the contest begins at 1:30 p.m., and awards will be announced in the arena at roughly 5:30 p.m. Contest rules and a list of potential classes may be found in the FSF Youth Livestock Catalog (2nd page). The contest will consist of up to eight classes to place - four halter and four performance. Participants will be asked one set of questions on a class which will be selected at the contest.

Each county may enter one four-member "Any Age" team comprised of youth of any age (8-18) plus one four-member team of seniors only (14-18 as of 9/1/18). Juniors, Intermediates, and Seniors will compete equally and be eligible for the same overall individual and team awards.

Register by completing and returning this form by January 28. Forms must be signed by the County Agent (Adobe e-signature is fine) and returned by email, fax, or regular mail to the contacts listed on the form. There is no entry fee for this contest.

Teams must enter the fairgrounds through the Martin Luther King Blvd. entrance and parking is free. All 4-H members presenting official 4-H membership cards will be admitted free. The 4-H leader will also be admitted free when accompanying a group of three or more youth. This is typically a very busy day at the fair. Parking might be distant and the entrance gates packed with the general public. Plan your travel to arrive at the fairgrounds well ahead of check-in so you have time to fight the masses. Try to reach the indoor arena no later than 12:30 p.m. so everyone will have a minute to relax, check in at registration, and get the members situated in their groups. Remember that this is also the preliminary for the State FFA Contest so it will be very crowded.

Previous Results

- 2018
- 2017
- 2016
- 2015
- 2013
- 2012


Return to top