Skip to main content

Awards and Honors


  1. Recognized by the American Dairy Science Association for the number of manuscripts I published in and reviewed for the Journal of Dairy Science over the last three years (2013).
  2. Florida Agricultural Experiment Station LEAD21 Fellow (2010). Recipient of the Leadership Development for the 21st Century Award Fellowship from the Florida Agricultural Experiment Station.
  3. University of Florida Research Foundation Professorship award to recognize a
    distinguished record of research and scholarship expected to lead to continuing distinction
    in the field (2009)
  4. Marquis Who’s Who in the USA (2009)
  5. Department of Animal Sciences nominee for the College of Agricultural Sciences Graduate Teacher and Adviser of the year award (2008)
  6. American Dairy Science Association, Pioneer Hi-Bred International Inc. Forage Award. For significant research contribution in the areas of forage production, processing, storage and utilization (2007).
  7. Graduate Student Mentor of the Year. Awarded by the Department of Animal Sciences Graduate Student Association, University of Florida (2006).
  8. Award for the best research paper presented to the Animal Nutrition Session at the 45th Annual Meeting of the European Association of Animal Production (1994).
  9. Distinction award for outstanding performance in the Animal and Forage Science M.S. Program, University of Reading, UK (1990)
  10. Zard prize for the Outstanding Animal Science B.S. Student. University of Ibadan, Nigeria (1987).

Assistantships and Fellowships

  1. Ph.D. Scholarship, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, United Kingdom (1992)
  2. M.S. Scholarship, Overseas Development Administration United Kingdom and the World Council of Churches (1990)

Honor Societies

  1. Gamma Sigma Delta, the honor society of Agriculture (2005 to date)
  2. Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Society (2004 to date)
  3. Recognized for contributions to the progress of minority students by Beta Eta Sigma, the Black honor society (2004)

Awards Dr. Adegbola T. Adesogan's Graduate Students Received

  1. Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research (CGIAR) Women’s Leadership Award. Received by my Ph.D. student, Susan Chikagwa-Malunga (2008) to signify her potential as a scientist and as a leader.
  2. Robert F. Barnes Graduate Student Award. Received by my Ph.D. student, Jamie Foster for presenting the best oral paper at a competition at the Joint International Annual meeting of the American Society of Agronomy, Crops Science Society of America, and the Soils Science Society of America (2006).
  3. J.P. Fontenot Student Travel Scholarship (2005). Received by my Ph.D. student, Susan Chikagwa-Malunga for the best graduate student abstract at the American Society of Animal Science Southern Section meeting (2004).